Oculus Developer Forums

Rift SDK and GPL

A forum to discuss development for the Oculus Rift.

Rift SDK and GPL

Postby Eli2 » Tue Apr 16, 2013 1:55 pm

Is the Rift SDK license compatible with sofware licensed under GPL ?

I am not a lawyer nor is english my first language, so i was not able to reach a conclusion.
Eli2

Re: Rift SDK and GPL

Postby cybereality » Tue Apr 16, 2013 6:05 pm

From what I understand, the SDK is not compatible with GPL. However, I believe LGPL should be OK.
Oculus VR - Community Manager
cybereality
Team Oculus Team Oculus

Postby Eli2 » Tue Apr 16, 2013 9:12 pm

The problem is, the license can not be changed.
The only solution is to implement a GPL compatible SDK from scratch.
Thanks for the reply.
Eli2

Postby kojack » Tue Apr 16, 2013 11:21 pm

That raises a good point. Linking the oculus sdk with the released source code for any of the Quake or Doom series would be a gpl violation.
(Not that I wanted to, I avoid touching GPL code, but I'm sure some people might want to try)

Other games that are open source but incompatible due to gpl:
- flightgear
- oolite
- arx fatalis
- duke nukem 3d
- penumbra overture
- jedi outcast
- jedi academy
plus more.
(many more, but I only listed the ones that I thought would be good in vr)

Until making this list I didn't know arx fatalis had it's source released 2 years ago. It's one of the best first person rpgs, a spiritual successor to the Ultima Underworld series. It also uses a magic system where you write runes in the air with your hand, that would be awesome with a rift and a wiimote!
kojack

Postby nesqi » Wed Apr 17, 2013 4:25 am

Oh my, this is really bad.

Someone needs to create a driver/sdk that's open source.

I wounder if some parts of the SDK are binary only. For example, is the interface code for the tracker open or will it have to be reverse engineered? Maybe the sdk fiddles with it's firmware, that might be a problem.
nesqi

Postby kojack » Wed Apr 17, 2013 7:57 am